Ref Training Program - The Rules (Articles 20-23)

IV.   The Rules (Articles 20-23)

A.  Article 20 - Ippon

1.  IJF Rule
1. The Referee shall announce Ippon when in his opinion the applied technique corresponds to the following criteria:
a) When a contestant, with skillful control until the end of the landing, throws the other contestant with a real impact on his back with considerable force and speed. When the fall is rolled without real impact, it is only possible to consider it Ippon if there is no break during the landing.
b) When a contestant holds with Osaekomi-waza the other contestant, who is unable to get away for 20 seconds after the announcement of Osaekomi.
c) When a contestant gives up by tapping twice (2) or more with his hand or foot or says Maitta (I give up!) generally as a result of Osaekomi-waza, Shime-waza or Kansetsu-waza.
d) When a contestant is incapacitated by the effect of a Shime-waza or Kansetsu-waza.
e) When a contestant lands in a "bridge" to avoid landing on his back, his opponent will be awarded a score of Ippon. Bridging is when the chin is extended away from the chest. Reaching with the head, stretching the neck out, not protecting the head and/or neck can/should be considered as bridging. 
2. Equivalence
Should one contestant be penalized with Hansoku-make, the other contestant shall immediately be declared winner with a score equivalent to Ippon.
3. Special situations
a) Simultaneous techniques. When both contestants fall to the Tatami after what appears to be simultaneous attacks and the Referees cannot decide which technique dominated there should be no score awarded.
b) In the case where both contestants score simultaneous Ippon the Referee will act as regulated in Article 19 paragraph 5.b.

2. U.S. Modifications and/or Comments
example videos - 2012 Olympics 57kg USA-ITA
                        - 2012 Olympics M100 NED-CZE
Click HERE for video of Jan 2014 IJF Rule Interpretation - 
- click on links at the end of this page to view the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar (Tokyo) coverage of this topic - 

B.  Article 21 - Waza-ari

1.  IJF Rule
The Referee shall announce Waza-ari when in his opinion the applied technique corresponds to the following criteria:
a) When a contestant with control throws the other contestant to his side of the upper body or back, but the technique is partially lacking in one (1) or two (2) of the other three (3) elements necessary for Ippon (see Article 20 (a)).
b) When a contestant holds with Osaekomi-waza the other contestant who is unable to get away for 10 seconds or more, but less than 20 seconds.
c) When a contestant with control throws the other contestant, but the technique is partially lacking in two (2) of the other three (3) elements necessary for Ippon.
When a contestant throws his opponent, with control, and the opponent falls on the side of the upper body it should be Waza-ari.
Examples: 
(1) Partially lacking in the element of "impact on the back" and is also partially lacking in one of the other two (2) elements of "speed" or "force".
(2) Impact on the back but partially lacking in both of the other two elements of "speed" and "force".
d) In order not to give a bad example for young judokas, the landing on both elbows,
both hands or one hand and the other elbow, is considered valid and evaluated by Waza-ari.  Landing on only one elbow is invalid and cannot be used for assessment.

2.  U.S. Modifications and/or Comments

example videos - 2016 Olympics W63kg NEP-CUB 
                          2016 Olympics W70kg JPN-GER
                          2012 Olympics M81kg USA-BRA
                          2016 Olympics Yuko M81kg GEO-CUB
                          2016 Olympics Yuko M90kg AZE-MGL

- Click HERE for video of Jan 2014 IJF Rule Interpretation - [note: all former Yukos are now waza-ari]
click on links at the end of this page to view the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar (Tokyo) coverage of this topic

- Continuity of throw (score vs break) - Click HERE for video of Jan 2014 IJF Rule Interpretation - 

C.  Article 22 - Waza-ari-awasete-Ippon

1.  IJF Rule

Should one contestant gain a second Waza-ari in the contest, the Referee shall announce Waza-ari-awasete-Ippon.

D.  Article 23 - Osaekomi-waza

1.  IJF Rule

The Referee shall announce Osaekomi when in his opinion the applied technique corresponds to the following criteria:
a) The contestant being held must be controlled by his opponent and must have his back, both shoulders or one shoulder in contact with the Tatami.
b) The control can be made from the side, from the rear or from on top.
c) The contestant applying the hold must not have his leg(s) or body controlled by his opponent’s legs.
d) At least one contestant must have one part of his body touching the contest area.
e) The contestant applying Osaekomi must have his body in either the Kesa, the Shiho or Ura position, i.e. similar to the techniques Kesa Gatame, Kami-shiho-gatame or Ura-gatame.

APPENDIX Article 23 – Osaekomi-waza
Should a contestant who is controlling his opponent with an Osaekomi-waza, changed without losing control, into another Osaekomi-waza, the Osaekomi time will continue until the announcement of Ippon (or equivalence), Toketa or Mate.
When Osaekomi is being applied, if the contestant who is in an advantageous position commits an infringement meriting a penalty, the Referee shall announce Mate, return the contestants to their standing positions, award the penalty (and any score from the Osaekomi), then recommence the contest by announcing Hajime
When Osaekomi is being applied, if the contestant who is in a disadvantageous position commits an infringement meriting a penalty, the Referee shall announce Sono-mama, award the penalty, then recommence the contest by touching both contestants and announcing Yoshi. However, should the penalty to be awarded be Hansoku-make, the Referee shall, after announcing Sono-mama, consult with the other Referees, announce Mate to return the contestants to their starting positions, then award Hansoku-make and end the contest by announcing Sore-made.
If both table Judges agree that an Osaekomi exists, but the Referee has not announced Osaekomi, they shall inform the Referee and by the “majority of three” rule, the Referee shall announce Osaekomi immediately.
Toketa should be announced if, during Osaekomi, the contestant being held succeeds in “scissoring” the other contestant’s leg(s), either from above or from below the leg.
  [NOTE: In cases where the “scissoring” is from below the leg (a reverse scissors) Osaekomi must not be announced; however if Osaekomi is in progress and then the leg is entwined with a “reverse scissors”, time should be given before announcing Toketa to give Uke the opportunity to extract their leg since this position is much weaker and Uke quite often does not have control of Tori’s leg which is required for Toketa. (reference: 2016 IJF Seminar in Tokyo)]
In situations where the back of the contest being held is no longer in contact with the Tatami, (e.g. “bridging”), but the contestant applying the hold maintains control, the Osaekomi shall continue.

2.  U.S. Modifications and/or Comments
example videos - 2016 Olympics M90kg - FRA-SWE 

Summary: In the case of a Kaeshiwaza situation (attack and counter-attack), the first competitor landing will be considered as thrown. If an appropriate score can be given, the referee will award a score. If the landing is unclear or a simultaneous landing, no Score will be awarded. Any actions taking place after landing will not be considered a Score, but will be considered as newaza.
 • In a case of attack and counter-attack the first competitor landing will be considered as thrown. If a score can be given, it will be assigned. This assumes that the Initial attack results in throwing the opponent first as you are NOT able to successfully counter-attack and score if you are already being thrown. You cannot throw and score after you've been thrown first.
• In case if the two athletes land together, no score will be given. Assuming that there is no clear control by either athlete.
• If an action is led by a competitor after the landing (Kaeshi-Waza), this action will not be counted. You cannot throw and score after you've been thrown first.
• Any action after landing will be considered as a Ne-Waza action. Again, you cannot throw and score after you've been thrown first.

 

Click HERE for video examples from the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar in Tokyo - Tachi-waza scores - Ippon, Waza-ari
Click HERE for video examples from the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar in Tokyo - Score vs. No Score
Click HERE for video examples from the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar in Tokyo - White or Blue
Click HERE for video examples from the 2016 Ref/Coach Seminar in Tokyo - Score vs. No Control
 

 

Click HERE to continue to the next training module
Click HERE to return to the INDEX.

2018  OhioJudo.Org  globbers joomla templates